Skip to main content


Archived Content

The Institute for Research and Innovation in Sustainability is accountable to both the IRIS membership and to the larger university community. Formal accountability to the latter is through the Senate and the Vice-President of Research and Innovation at York University. York University Senate approved the continuation of IRIS for a period of 6 year period from, 2008-2014. Decision-making at IRIS revolves around the Executive Board and the Steering Committee. The main executive officers of IRIS are the Director and Deputy Director.

Documents and Policies:

IRIS Executive Board

The Executive Board’s mandate is to approve the Institute’s policies, procedures, budgets, annual reports, and strategic plans, and oversee their implementation. The Board consists of 25 members, to reflect the diverse groups and sustainability initiatives at York University that IRIS engages with. Specifically the board consists of:

  • The Director (ex officio)
  • The Coordinator (ex officio)
  • At least ten Core Faculty
  • At least three Senior Fellows
  • At least three Junior Fellows

View the current IRIS Executive Members.


The IRIS Executive has the following committees:

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee’s mandate is to oversee the day-to-day operations of the Institute, plan and coordinate fund-raising and project development, implement the Institute’s policies and procedures, nominate Executive Board members, and keep IRIS membership under review. The current Steering Committee members are:

Dawn Bazely, Director
Annette Dubreuil, Coordinator
Sheila Embleton, Core Faculty
Helen Psathas, Senior Fellow
Michael Long, Junior Fellow

Speaker Series Committee

Darnel Harris, IRIS GA and Junior Fellow
Hao Yang, IRIS Work Study and Junior Fellow
Annette Dubreuil, Coordinator
Dawn Bazely, Director

Policy Committee

Bill Denton, Librarian
Dawn Bazely, Director